Top 25 University Departments

These 25 universities are making a difference in student safety. These departments are recognized for having increased the safety and security of their campus community in 2017.

Special recognition is garnered on Kennesaw State University, the winner of the 2017 National Department of the Year and to 2017 National Department of the Year award finalists Old Dominion University and Western Michigan University.


1 Kennesaw State University* Department of Public Safety and Police
2 Old Dominion University* Old Dominion University Police Department
3 Western Michigan University* Western Michigan University Department of Public Safety
4 Marquette University Marquette University Police Department
5 California State University, Fullerton California State University Fullerton Police Department
6 Savannah State University Student Affairs; Library Services; Residential Services; the Wright Mentoring Program; Disability Services; Counseling Services; Center for Academic Success; Public Safety; Admissions; Health Services; Human Resources; and Enrollment Management.
7 Fordham University Office of Public Safety
8 UNC Charlotte UNC Charlotte Police Department
9 West Virginia University WVU Police Department and Office of Emergency Management
10 The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center and UTHealth Science Center Houston The University of Texas Police at Houston
11 University of Iowa University of Iowa Department of Public Safety
12 The University of West Florida University of West Florida Police Department
13 Columbia State Community College Office of Public Safety
14 GateWay Community College GateWay Campus Police; GateWay Partners in Safety
15 New Jersey Institute of Technology Department of Public Safety
16 Miami University (Ohio)
Miami University Police Department
17 University of Wisconsin Oshkosh UW Oshkosh Police Department
18 Bristol Community College Campus Preparedness Team
19 Arkansas Tech University Arkansas Tech University Department of Public Safety
20 Moraine Valley Community College Police Department
21 Columbus State Community College Columbus State Community College Police Department
22 Southeastern University Safety & Security Department; Student Development Department
23 University of Minnesota-Twin Cities University of Minnesota Department of Public Safety
24 Lincoln Memorial University Lincoln Memorial University Administration Division; LMU Campus Police, Security, & Dispatch
25 University of Nevada, Las Vegas UNLV Risk Management and Safety


* Department of the Year Award winner and finalists.

Rankings are based on the published award criteria.

Nominations for the 2018 Department of the Year Award and Top 25 list open Summer 2018. Check back for more information.